Final Field & Weights Released – 2011 Darwin Cup

July 28th, 2011

The final field has been released for the 2011 Darwin Cup at Fannie Bay Racecourse in the Northern Territory this Monday August 1, 2011.

The barrier draw for the Darwin Cup 2011 will be completed tomorrow July 29, 2011.

A total of 12 runners and two emergencies have made the 2011 Darwin Cup final field.

The race is worth a total of $175,000 in prize money and is run over a distance of 2,000 metres.

Trainer Michael Hickmott is waiting with bated breath to hear what barrier draw his gelding Agarkar will receive.

“Agarkar is jumping out of his skin, but the barrier draw could decide his fate because I’m not going to start a horse to just make up the numbers,” Hickmott said.

Hickmott wants to ensure that Agarkar is 100% for Monday’s Darwin Cup 2011, after suffering heartbreak at the hands of last year’s race when 2009 winner Activation suffered a career-ending injury mid-run.

“Activation suffered an injury turning out of the straight in last year’s Cup and although he completed the race it ended up being his last start because he has since retired,” Hickmott said.

“I was pretty close to Activation and a lot of hard work went into his Cup win, so it was indeed a sad occasion last year.”

Luxbet will release horse racing odds for the Darwin Cup 2011 soon after barrier draws are released tomorrow.

Luxbet offer the “Best of the Best” odds on all the best races in Australia and overseas.

As well as offering top odds, Luxbet is giving all new customers the opportunity to receive a bonus bet worth up to $400.

Just sign up for an account today and enter the promo code BONUSBET and you will we rewarded with a bonus bet valued at 100% of your initial deposit when you bank between $25 and $400!

So sign up and claim your bonus bet today! It’s that easy!

Darwin Cup 2011 Final Field

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 X804411351 HAWKS BAY Neil Dyer Steven Arnold 0 63kg 106
2 8749146113 PALMYRA BOY Neil Dyer Ms Jan Cameron 0 57.5kg 93
3 X11123X318 BLACKBRIAR Melinda Boothby 0 55kg 88
4 76X9519197 NARATEL Phillip Stokes Dom Tourneur 0 53.5kg 85
5 8743515521 SPAKATAK Kevin Lamprecht Carl Spry 0 53.5kg 85
6 0X32175511 THE RUFFIAN Sheila Arnold Kerrin McEvoy 0 53.5kg 85
7 25X9000815 CLUB LIQUID Dick Leech Michael McDuff 0 53kg 84
8 0080X15220 MONTEGO BAY Paula Trenwith Scott Hillebrand 0 53kg 84
9 8545212X64 AGARKAR Michael Hickmott Ms Libby Hopwood (a) 0 53kg 82
10 12111X6516 GENERAL MAZERATTI Jason Manning Ms Vanessa Arnott 0 53kg 80
11 52X0325X33 ROBDON FLYER Ken Rogerson 0 53kg 76
12 687166X459 VERY FAST Julien Welsh 0 53kg 74
13e 132345X532 BOLTON (NZ) Stephen Brown Paul Denton 0 53kg 73
14e 0625614608 LOUKOUMI Lisa Lefoe 0 53kg 73