Barrier Draw Released – Darwin Cup 2013

August 2nd, 2013

The barrier draw has been released for the Darwin Cup, which will run at Darwin’s Fannie Bay Racecourse this Monday August 5, 2013.

Race favourite Spartan Eagle will have to deal with the widest barrier of 15 in the 2013 Darwin Cup.

The six-year-old is in top form going into the 2013 Darwin Cup, having won the Metric Mile by a six length margin last start.

Spartan Eagle has won eight of his 28 race starts and has earned more than $146,000 in prize money during his career.

Meanwhile, reigning Darwin Cup title holder Hawks Bay has been allocated the better barrier of three for Monday’s race.

Hawks Bay will need to bounce back from a seventh placing in the Metric Mile last start, where he was beaten by Spartan Eagle by 10.5 lengths.

Trainer Neil Dwyer is hopeful that Hawks Bay is able to turn his form around in time to secure his third successive Darwin Cup win.

“It would be nice to look back in the records in 10 or 20 years and see his name winning three  Darwin Cups,” Dyer told

“He’s the sort of horse that deserves it and he’s going into the race in a similar position to last year.

Hawks Bay

Hawks Bay has drawn barrier three for the 2013 Darwin Cup. Picture by Taron Clarke.

“But he’s a year older and probably more dour – although we’ve ticked all the boxes to make him turn up at his best on the day.”

Hawks Bay has won 14 of his 58 race starts ad has earned more than $850,000 in prize money.

Open an account with in order to get the best spring racing odds during the carnival.

Just enter the promo code BONUSBET when you join and you will receive a bonus valued up to $500 to use on the race.

So what are you waiting for? Sign up now to start betting the way it should be with!

2013 Darwin Cup Final Field & Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 161×439697 HAWKS BAY Neil Dyer Steven Arnold 3 65kg 110
2 910×503154 RED COLOSSUS John Stanton Dale Smith 7 61kg 96
3 0315×70844 THUMBTACKS (NZ) Mark Nyhan Craig Moon 10 60.5kg 95
4 53707×4508 EXTRA ZERO David Hayes Nash Rawiller 8 60kg 94
5 23x42311x5 THE RUFFIAN Sheila Arnold Paul Shiers 4 57.5kg 89
6 134×805274 CONSTANT FORCE Bill & Symon Wilde Jason Maskiell 11 57kg 88
7 09×0044411 THE BIG STEEL Stephen Brown Andrew Mallyon 12 57kg 88
8 x360x06834 AGRIPPA Michael Hickmott Reece Wheeler 6 56kg 86
9 9202251111 SPARTAN EAGLE Bob Richard Scott Hillebrand 15 56kg(2kg) 86
10 7700×60545 BOLTON (NZ) Stephen Brown Stephen Baster 9 55kg 84
11 4223×35523 GENEROUS BEAU Todd Balfour John Powell 1 55kg 84
12 40×5904111 HOST OF THE PARTY Stephen Brown Dwayne Dunn 2 54.5kg 83
13e 225157×214 IGLES STAR Chris Pollard Ms Felicia Bergstrand (a) 13 54kg 82
14e 2846x263x4 PORT VELL (NZ) Greg Connor Ms Kacie Connor (a) 5 54kg 82
15e x60745x962 PALMYRA BOY Neil Dyer 14 54kg 79