Darwin Cup Field

The Darwin Cup field contains some of the better middle distance and staying horses that regularly race at the top end. Due to its isolated nature and somewhat equine-hostile climate, Northern Territory racing is not advanced as some of the southern states. Nevertheless, the Darwin Cup field always provides plenty of entertainment across 2000m of Territory racing track. Look out for a few good opportunities for betting on the Darwin Cup field, as there’s always some value to be had in these races.

2016 Darwin Cup Field

The 2016 Darwin Cup field draws on gallopers from all around, although most are stabled locally. Plenty of the stronger chances in the 2016 Darwin Cup field have experience racing elsewhere, such as at Morphettville or Rosehill. For this reason, keep an eye on the 2016 Darwin Cup field for those horses that have prior experience racing against strong competition, as their race record may not accurately reflect their chances of victory in Darwin.

The 2016 Darwin Cup field is below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Penalty Hcp Rating
1 27809x11x4 LIGHTINTHENITE Gary Clarke Paul Shiers 5 63kg 100
2 8013141424 MONTALTO Angela Forster Carl Spry 6 56kg 90
3 0657555412 WHISTLE STOP Dick Leech Stephen Ridler 10 55.5kg 85
4 5233935111 OUR VALDIVIA (NZ) Lisa Lefoe Paul Denton 3 55kg 1.0kg 84
5 7111111×11 FINKE Gary Clarke Brendon Davis 8 54.5kg 83
6 x9045x6591 ROYAL REQUEST Neil Dyer Tommy Berry 1 54.5kg 83
7 4693110×22 SATURDAY SORCERER Jason Manning Dean Yendall 7 54kg 82
8 770×112303 BIG MAN Gary Clarke Kim Gladwin 12 54kg 81
9 1637234663 MOON DEVIL Angela Forster Jarrod Todd 4 54kg 81
10 1436392887 KAYNO Kerry Petrick Jason Lyon 9 54kg 80
11 27357×5279 ORION (NZ) Kerry Petrick Wayne Davis 13 54kg 78
12 890×483705 SPARTAN EAGLE Bob Richard Ms Felicia Bergstrand 11 54kg 78
13e 5860x4x756 CANNY BALLAD Michael Hickmott Raymond Vigar (late alt) 2 54kg 77